Alice

 

I’ve recently been invited to a group on DeviantArt called PopCultureCrochet. I never really thought about it before but I guess a lot of my dolls could be considered Pop Culture. If you’ve never been to DeviantArt you should really consider checking it out. There is a ton of art of all kinds posted there, including several categories for crochet. This link goes directly to my profile. It doesn’t have much on it yet but from there you can go to the ‘More’ link at the top of the page and start browsing. While I’m linking to my other sites, check me out on Facebook and Pinterest.

Ok, enough shameless self-promotion, on to Alice.

20160903_14210220160903_142126

I put Alice together a little differently than Emma so her pattern is slightly different as well. I’ll post it after I’ve worked out all the bugs. She has more defined knees and elbows which make her limbs easier to bend into different positions. Her legs are also attached to her body differently than Emma’s. This makes it easier for her to sit. These changes, combined with a wire armature, make her quite a bit more flexible than Emma.

20160902_152613

Alice as inspired by a couple of video games I enjoy (hence the pop culture reference) that are based on Alice in Wonderland. As you can see from the pictures, the games are considerably darker than the original books. The game sitting on my coffee table right now is rated M(17+). Disney this isn’t. :The vorpal blade in her hand is just a bit of aluminum foil and tape. I felt that I needed a photo and it’s the best I could do. I’m thinking she needs a Cheshire cat for company but I have a couple of other dolls on the go at the moment so he’ll have to wait.

 

 

One thought on “Alice

Leave a Reply

